Archive for category: Iran Architecture

Malek historic mansion

Malek historic mansion

This large mansion was built with command of malek o-tojar, a great merchant , in bushehr, in Qajar era. during one of his trips to Paris he loved one of his friend’s house , then decided to have the same one in bushehr, so he hired the architecture of the house in Paris and added his own ideas to the site plan and built this beautiful house. This house has four parts : the first one is Pishkhan, an open space in front of the house, the second part is Platform and the third part is facade and entrance , and the last part is the main building in two floors and has painted walls. The first floor was for official meetings and the second floor was for private parties. In addition to the said parts , there were nested gardens that were separated with some rows of walls . each garden has its own erntance to connect to the other parts or out side . each garden had their own Decorations and atmosphere.

Haj Hossein Agha Malek House

The Haj Hossein Agha Malek’s House is a monument that belongs to the Malek National Library and Museum. It is located within the Bazar of Tehran and at the center of Tehran’s old urban complex, halfway between two great religious monuments: the Emam Khomeini Mosque (formerly called the Shah Mosque) and the Jame’ Mosque of Tehran. The Malek House is a quiet place surrounded by a crowded Bazar. It reflects the serenity of its former owner, who lived there for decades. This house was recorded as a National Monument by the National Cultural Heritage of Iran in Dec 7, 1997.


The original building, which Hossein Agha inherited from his father “Mohammad Kazem” was built in the Qajar period, with an extension added in the Pahlavi era. This building first housed the Malek National Library and Museum.


The two parts of the building incorporate architectural elements and decorations from the Qajar and Pahlavi periods, including brick work, tile work, plaster work, wooden decoration, stone carvings, wood carvings, metal works and wallpapers.



Naranjestan Ghavam

The Ghavam family were rulers of Fars region in Qajar era. Naranjestan means garden of sour orange in Persian. Naranjestan e Ghavam (Ghavam’s House) is the name of a famous building located in Shiraz, Iran. This masterpiece is a good sample of Persian architecture was built between 1879 and 1886 AD. and was used as a court house, governmental meetings, department of Asia institute of Shiraz university and lately a Museum.
The building is well embellished by elegant mirrors, tile and wood works, good assemble of Iranian traditional houses. Along with stucco, symmetry method is well used in rooms from the floor to the ceiling which is covered with colorful and various beautiful designs and paintings were used in Qajar era, resembling the paintings of Victorian era in Europe.
Garden & yard are lovely with a Persian pond and water fountains in the middle and trees of orange, sour orange, date palms and flowers around the garden. In the adjacent, there is Zinat-ol-Molk house, the house of Ghavam’s sister. These tow houses are connected to each other with an old corridor.
Zinat-ol-Molk house is also a museum of wax statues of Iranian historical and famous people and icons.
There, you can wear beautiful traditional dresses and Take memorable pictures.
Nearby these Persian traditional houses there are many sightseeing spots such as Shah e Cheragh Shrine, Vakil bazaar, many religious mosques and another Persian masterpiece architecture, Nasir-Al-Molk mosque (Pink Mosque).
You can visit these tow Iranian traditional and historical houses and other touristic destinations around, through our cultural tours.



Persian art with colorful glasses and mirror pieces in jewel like design, used in Ghavam’s house.




Cyrus II, known as Cyrus the Great, was the founder of Achaemenid dynasty. His maternal grandfather was Astyages, the last king of the Medes, and his paternal grandfather was Achaemenes, the first founder of hereditary rule among the Persians.

Cyrus presented a new empire based on morality, justice, and decency to the world. Unlike the previous emperors, he treated the defeated with compassion, enemies with tolerance, and those with opposing beliefs and customs with liberality. His statement in Babylon, written on a clay cylinder, is the first draft of the Declaration of Human Rights.

The followings are three sites worth exploring to learn more about the rise and fall of Achaemenids. You can leave Shiraz for a one-day tour to visit these spectacular sites and then come back.

Pasargadae: This Is Where Achaemenids Rose to Power


Tomb of Cyrus at Pasargadae, Iran


It was the dynastic capital of Achaemenid Empire, the first great multicultural empire in western Asia. Today, it’s located near Shiraz in Fars province, south western Iran. It’s where Cyrus the Great conquered Astyages, the last Median king, in his last battle, and then founded the first Persian Empire in the same region and beyond. He founded Pasargadae and constructed palaces in memory of his victory. It was the rise of Achaemenids and Cyrus the Great was the author of Achaemenid dynasty. His tomb is also here in this city.

According to UNESCO, “palaces, gardens, and tomb of Cyrus are outstanding examples of the first phase of royal Achaemenid art and architecture, and exceptional testimonies of Persian civilization”.

A brief description of the site

The tomb of Cyrus has long been a focal point for visitors to Pasargadae and the palace area lay almost a kilometer north of it. This area included a palace to receive audiences and a whole series of adjacent gardens. They emerged to be the first Persian gardens. Unfortunately, all that has remained from Achaemenid era in this region are stone foundations and some wall socles.

In this site, the columned hall is the most common form of design. A notable architectural point about this hall was making use of stone-working techniques. It’s notable because all the previous columned halls in Iranian plateau were built in mud-brick walls and wooden columns.

Such an innovation facilitated the production of stone platforms, staircase, floors, and stone columns. Each one of these structures was to become a hallmark of architecture in Achaemenid era from about 540 BCE onward.

The gardens at Pasargadae would appear to be the first known occurrence of chaharbagh or fourfold garden, a specific articulation of space. It went on to become a distinctive characteristic of later garden designs in Iran for centuries.

Pasargadae kept its importance to Achaemenid emperors, but during the reign of the next kings, the capital moved to other cities.

Persepolis: The Glorious Times of Achaemenids



Gate of All Nations at Persepolis, Achaemenid Era


It’s the other dynastic center of Achaemenid kings located about 60 kilometers south of Pasargadae. After Cyrus the Great, Darius I, known as Darius the Great, succeeded in ruling the Persian Empire. He started the construction of Persepolis. It consists of ceremonial palaces, provisional residential palaces, a treasury, and a chain of fortification. It was built as a ceremonial palace complex mainly for celebrating Nowruz, the Persian New Year festival.

The gate to the site was from the south, through a staircase. To the right of this entrance, you can see a huge rectangular block bearing four cuneiform inscriptions in the name of Darius the Great: Two in Old Persian, one in Elamite, and the fourth in Babylonian. These scripts were clearly meant to inform visitors of the nature of Persepolis, the people who contributed to its construction as well as Darius’ beliefs and ideals.

The remarkable parts of the palace complex consist of:

  • The Gate of All Nations.

It was a four-columned square hall with three stone doorways. Two enormous winged bulls are carved at the inner side of eastern as well as western doorways, and the gates are decorated in the upper part with six cuneiform inscription sections.

  • The audience palace of Darius, The Apadana

The double-reversed stairways of this palace are the most splendid parts of Persepolis

  • The Palace of Darius known, the Tachara.

A charming structure which is the oldest palace of Persepolis. Here, you can find three different scripts carved in various historical periods: one in cuneiform from Achaemenid era, one in Pahlavi from Sassanid era, and one in modern Persian from Qajar era.

  • The Palace of Xerxes, the Hadish

It was the Xerxes’ temporary residence.

  • The Central Palace, the Tripylon

A small but lavishly ornamented structure located in the center of the complex. Three doorways and a couple of corridors and staircases were linked to the other palaces. It must be attributed to Xerxes and Artaxerxes I.

  • The second largest palace of Persepolis, The Hundred Column Hall

Its main feature was a square hall provided with ten rows of ten columns. It was an audience hall.

These structures were built by Darius the Great and his successors, Xerxes and Artaxerxes I, and maintained until 330 BCE, when they were looted and burnt by Alexander of Macedonia. Although today you can see only the remains of this complex, its magnificence can still impress you.

Darius the Great was a powerful and sage emperor in the ancient world. His territory was so extended that there were no such imperial expansion until then and long after.

Naqsh-e-Rostam, Mighty Emperors Have Rested Here


Naqsh-e Rostam, Achaemenids’ Necropolis near Shiraz, Iran


It’s one of the most spectacular ancient sites of Achaemenid era dating back to the times when the fall of Achaemenids was about to happen. It’s located almost 5 kilometers northwest of Persepolis, and consists of the colossal rock tombs of Persian kings dating back to the first millennium BC. Here you can see the best ancient rock reliefs in Iran from both the Achaemenid and Sassanid periods.

The rock-cut tombs of Achaemenid rulers and their families dating back to the 5th, 4th, and 3rd centuries BC have been engraved on the façade of a mountain. The tombs belong to Darius the Great, Xerxes I, Artaxerxes I, and Darius II. In addition to being a royal necropolis, Naqsh-e-Rostam was a major ceremonial center for the Sasanians until the 7th century AD.

I highly suggest you to put these three spectacular Achaemenid sites in your checklist for travelling to Iran. It takes just one day to visit them all and learn about the rise and fall of Achaemenids. I promise there will be so many amazing things that can cause your admiration.


Complex Amir Chahmak in Yazd (Yazd)

Amir Chakhmaq

Amir Chakhmaq

Meydan-e Mir Chaqmaq mosque is dominated by a wide portal facade and poked two outrageously sharp, more than 50 meters high minarets in the pale blue afternoon sky.

In the middle of the XV century, when Jalaladdin Chahmak, commander of Shahrokh Timurid, became ruler of Yazd. He and his wife Bibi Fatima Khatun built a complex with the purpose of improving the city, which became known as the Amir Chakhmak complex. This is one of the most significant historical complexes in the city of Yazd, located in the heart of the old city. A valuable complex of structures consists of a mosque, teki, Haji Kanbar bazaar, Bibi Fatima reservoir and other buildings. The complex of Amir Chahmak as a monument of the XV century is listed in the list of famous historical monuments of Iran. The area of ​​Amir Chahmak in the Safavid era was known under the same name. In the reign of Shah Abbas, some of these monuments were restored. On the eastern side of the Amir Chakhmak square is the Haji Kanbar bazaar, built by Nizam-addin Haji Kanbar Jahanshahi. After coming to power in the city of Yazd Jahanshah Kara-Kuyunlu, other monuments were built by his order. Subsequently, on the entrance portico of the market was built a sublime beautiful building in the style of other tekha Yazd. The construction works of the Amir Chakhmak mosque ended in 1437. It is considered to be the most beautiful after the Cathedral Mosque of Yazd.

The Amir Chakhmak Mosque with mosaic tiles and curved arches in terms of space, beauty and authority is also known as the “New Cathedral Mosque”. In this complex there are two reservoirs – Bibi Fatima and Haji Kanbar. Reservoir teka Amir Chakhmak currently functions as the “Water Museum”.


Nakhl Yazd

Nakhl Yazd

Play watch and Nakhl

Towering over two minarets, this three-storey building serves as the grandstand for the Ashura Passion Play, in which the fight and death of Imam Hoseyn are staged. Each year to Ashura, the tenth day and highlight of the Shiite Mourning Month, Muharram, 200 million Shiites commemorate the Battle of Karbala, which ended in 680 AD with the martyrdom of the Prophet’s grandson, Imam Hoseyn, and the split of Islam into Sunnis and Sunnis Shiites finally sealed. Ashura, the tenth day of the month, is called Muharram, the first month in the Islamic calendar. This day is significant for all Muslims around the world and is celebrated on various occasions. On the square is also the heavy “Nakhl” wooden scaffolding. This is hung in the Ashura rites with black cloths and carried around on the shoulders of mourners. It symbolizes the shrine of Imam Hossein. The so-called “Naql” is adorned with black cloths, banners and with the portrait of Imam Hossein in the mourning procession on the 10th Muharram and then worn by well-built Porters through the city.

Jame mosque Yazd

Jame mosque Yazd

The Jame Mosque of Yazd

The Jame Mosque (Friday Mosque) is the grand assembly mosque of Yazd City. It was begun between 1324 and 1327 on the site of a former fire temple and a Seljuk mosque. It was funded by Seyed Rokn od-Din, who came from the wealthy Yazd patrician family. It was extended in 1365 and is today one of the outstanding buildings of the 14th century in Iran. The mosque is crowned by a pair of minarets, the highest in Iran (48 m). The facade of the portal is decorated with dazzling tiles, mainly in blue. Within the mosque is a long, arcaded courtyard (cream). Behind a low-lying Ivan (hall) is an altar chamber, a room cooled by a ventilation system. This chamber under the squat tiled dome is decorated with faience mosaics and its high faience mihrab (prayer niche indicating the direction of prayer) from 1365 is one of the most beautiful of its kind.

Especially worth seeing in the vicinity is the mausoleum Rokn od-Din – this has a turquoise dome with blue grid. The grave structure is characterized by the magnificent, reminiscent of floral carpet patterns paintings of the inner dome around which runs a tape. Here is buried Rokn od-Din, who founded the Friday Mosque and created many foundations. The mausoleum is visible from all elevated points in Yazd and is about 700 years old.

When entering the prayer ivan of the Jame Mosque, a Friday mosque, as the word “Jame” already says, it gets really atmospheric. Even the richly decorated with tiles and mosaics entrance portal lets the head fall for many minutes in the neck and shocked by the prayer rugs still in the interior of the octagonal, half-open and richly decorated patterns.

You can end your beautiful day with a tour of the old town, marvel at the beautifully decorated dome of the Rokn-od-Din mausoleum (tomb of the founder of the Friday Mosque of Yazd).

After a short stroll through the relatively manageable bazaar of the desert city, you land unexpectedly in a particularly atmospheric place. In a mausoleum on the boulevard Salman-e Farsi stands the shrine of Prince Fazel. It is worth visiting the place because the green color will give you a calm and relaxing time.

Written by: Ebrahim Barzegar





Iran’s Economuseum becomes a major tourist attraction
An ancient building in southeastern Iran has become a museum of traditional professions that attracts a large number of visitors.

A historic school in the city of Kerman, in southeastern Iran, has been restored and renovated and renamed “Economuseum”. It is a place where visitors can familiarize themselves with the different traditional professions of the city.

For starters, the Grand Bazaar of Kerman has numerous attractions. Anyone entering the market can spend hours visiting the historical monuments there, including old small workshops. Old men have still kept alive and probably forgotten professions in the province.

According to a Persian report from the Mehr News , one of the ancient monuments in the main hall of the bazaar was recently restored.

Visitors can now see for themselves the traditional professions of Kerman people there. Each camera is dedicated to a certain art and industry. Ceramics, carpet weaving, carpet weaving and a room with symbolic decoration suggesting that Kermanis decorate the rooms of their houses. A public road in the monument is going to be adapted and put into service, too. This place is known as the Lady Bibijan School. The building was opened to the public in 2015 as the Econonomuseum of Professions, which houses visitors and tourists.

The historic building built in 1888 was first used as a joint Iran-UK bank. Later, after the bank was transferred to the British consulate, the building was renovated in 1933 for use by students. In 1941, it was named after the lady “Bibi Hayati”, and was used as a school until 1977. It was then abandoned and extinguished. And several years ago, it was restored and converted into a museum.


The Memory of Saint Thaddeus and His Faithful Followers


Iran’s Qara Kelisa will honor the memory of Saint Thaddeus and his faithful followers during a ceremony in the northern province of West Azerbaijan.
The church is located at the end of a road which has been constructed merely for this church and a small nearby village. Qara Kelissa was registered as the ninth historical-cultural heritage of Iran at the 32nd International Heritage Committee of the United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) in Quebec, Canada.

Scores of Armenians, Assyrians, and Catholics from Iran and other countries will attend the annual event as part of their pilgrimage on the Day of St. Thaddeus.
The ceremony is known as one of the largest religious ceremonies held by Armenians.
Qara Kelisa, also known as the St. Thaddeus Church, is one of the oldest and most notable surviving Christian monuments of Iran that carries great significance for the country’s Armenian Orthodox community.

The church is composed of two parts: a black structure, the original building of the church from which it takes its name and a white structure, the main church, which was added to the original building’s western wing in 1810 CE.
An ancient chapel two kilometers northwest of the church is said to have been the place where the first Christian woman, Sandokh, was martyred. The chapel is believed to be as old as Qara Kelisa. The structure was inscribed along with two other monastic ensembles of the Armenian Christian faith namely St. Stepanos and the Chapel of Dzordzor.

Saint Thaddeus Monastery
The Saint Thaddeus Monastery is an ancient Armenian monastery located in the mountainous area of Iran’s West Azarbaijan Province, about 20 kilometers from the town of Maku. The monastery is visible from a distance because of the massiveness of the church, strongly characterized by the polygonal drums and conical roofs of its two domes. There are several chapels nearby: three on the hills east of the stream, one approximately 3km south of the monastery on the road to Bastam, and another that serves as the church for the village of Ghara-Kilise.
One of the 12 Apostles, St. Thaddeus, also known as Saint Jude, (not to be confused with Judas Iscariot), was martyred while spreading the Gospel. He is revered as an apostle of the Armenian Apostolic Church. Legend has it that a church dedicated to him was first built on the present site in AD 68.
Not much appears to remain of the original church, which was extensively rebuilt in 1329 after an earthquake damaged the structure in 1319. Nevertheless, some of the parts surrounding the altar apse date from the 10th century.
Most of the present structure dates from the early 19th century when Qajar prince Abbas Mirza helped in renovations and repairs. The 19th-century additions are from carved sandstone. The earliest parts are of black and white stone, hence its Turkish name Kara Kilise, the Black Church. A fortified wall surrounds the church and its now-abandoned monastery buildings.

According to Armenian Church tradition, the Apostles Thaddeus and Bartholomew traveled through Armenia in AD 45 to preach the word of God; many people were converted and numerous secret Christian communities were established there.
The ancient Christian historian Moses of Khorene tell the following story, considered a legend by most modern historiography.
Thaddeus converted King Abgar V of Edessa. After his death, the Armenian kingdom was split into two parts. His son Ananun crowned himself in Edessa, while his nephew Sanatruk ruled in Armenia. About AD 66, Ananun gave the order to kill St. Thaddeus in Edessa. The king’s daughter Sandokht, who had converted to Christianity, was martyred with Thaddeus. Her tomb is said to be located near the Ghara Kelisa.

History and Architecture
In Turkish, Qara means black and the church was called so because a part of it was black. Apparently, the main building of the church was built entirely of black stones but after reconstruction part of the stones was replaced by white ones. This was most probably done intentionally so that future generations would be informed of the original shape and façade of the church.
The church was destroyed and reconstructed at different eras for different reasons. A great part of the church was destroyed in the year 1230 (616 Lunar Hejira) during the attack of Genghis Khan.
When Hulagu Khan was residing in Azarbaijan, Khaje Nassireddin Toosi embarked on its reconstruction.
The main church, built in 1811-1820 is a massive structure, built of light sandstone and adorned with blind arches and decorative and geometric shapes.
Its twelve-sided tambour has been built in alternating light- and dark-colored stones and has an equal number of windows.
The church has two large courtyards, the first of which seems to have been used for agricultural purposes, while the second encircles the white structure, the portico, and a number of rooms.
The first courtyard includes oil-extracting rooms, a miniature windmill, an oven, and a fountain. It is decorated with ornamental motifs and two intricately designed stone crucifixes.
A small door opens to the second courtyard where the refectory and the kitchen along with rooms for resident monks and abbots are located.

The portico, which has been left unfinished, dates back to the mid 19th century.
The building’s exterior is adorned with five rows of alternating dark and light stones as well as numerous round and blind arches, decorated with rosettes, coats-of-arms, flowers and animal figures.
Statues of angels adorn the front facade of the church and its northern and southern facades are decorated with dark-colored stone crucifixes.
Sculptured bas-reliefs bearing passages from the Old and New Testaments, mythical animals, and effigies of saints have added to the beauty of the monument.
Armenians hold that Qara Kelisa is the world’s first church and was constructed in 68 CE by one of the apostles of Jesus, Saint Thaddeus, who traveled to Armenia, then part of the Persian Empire, to preach the teachings of Christ.
The church was destroyed as a result of an earthquake in 1319 and as narrated by Andranik Hovian there is a document showing it was rehabilitated by Saint Zachary in 1329.



Amazing 12,000-year-old, Meymand Village

Man and nature joined together to create one of the most amazing and extraordinary places in the world in southern Iran.
Meymand is a rocky village in the district of Meymand in the central part of the city of Babak in the province of Kerman in southeastern Iran.
Meymand dates back to 8,000 to 12,000 years, is another example of the historic tourist attraction in Iran.
The village of Meymand and the Kandovan rocky village in Tabriz are among the few architectural forms of the rock that are widely used in the entire structure of the villages.

As an example, the most important attributes of these villages in comparison with those of the Cappadocia village of Turkey are the residential units of these two villages.In other words, life is still in this village.
The village was registered on July 4, 2015, at the thirty-nine UNESCO World Heritage Summit as the 19th UNESCO World Herald of Iran.
Meymand Village attracts thousands of tourists eager to see its cavern-like houses and experience the traditional rural culture of the region.
This ancient man-made building is certainly among the first human settlements in Iran.It is not yet known who created this collection, and what were the motives of these people for the construction of such structures.
But the motives of the people are very important,Because with simple facilities, the creation of such magnificent collection with an outstanding architecture is admired.

Some people believe that Mithraism used these caves only for the worship and burial of the dead.And after a while due to the emergence of water and air or any other effective environment, these caves have been chosen to reside.The religion of Mithraism was prevalent in Iran before the advent of Ayn Zoroastrianism and continued until long after its emergence.
At the time of Sasanian, Shahrbabak was considered as the birthplace of Babak Sassanid.After the advent of Islam and its entry into Iran, the people of Meymand who believed in the Zoroastrian religion accepted Islam.

Traditional houses in the village are carved out of the rocks and include corridors, pillars and a stove used to cook and heat the house during glacial winters.Locals say their ancestors did not use hammers and scissors, but a type of pointed stone to sculpt images in rocks. The method is still practiced today in the region.
The current inhabitants of the village build their cave houses, known as Kicheh, by chiseling six to nine-meter horizontal cuts into the hillside’s soft sedimentary rock.Meymand’s sedimentary rocks are soft enough to be shaped by hand and hard enough to support the roof of cave units.
There are about 400 Kitchens in Meymand. Each Kicheh covers an area of about 16 to 20 square meters and is nearly two meters high.

The houses are built on one another and accommodate 130 to 150 people, many of whom lead a nomadic life, escaping warm weather by switching to higher pastures in summer.
The houses usually consist of a single square or round room with carved windows as much as possible. Some houses are windowless and dark due to lack of natural light and soot-coated walls.

Larger houses have more than one room and sometimes an adjacent shelter or animal shelter. The doors are generally rectangular and wooden, with a latch that locks on a hole drilled in a stone frame.
Tourists, who arrive in the village can either stay in guest houses or enjoy staying in cozy, soot-stained cave houses.Guest house rooms are covered with pressed wool felt, called Namad in Persian, and carpets.Meymand also has a public bath, a school, a restaurant, a museum and a number of shops mostly offering herbal medicine and traditional handicrafts.



Kashan a spectacular city, For all seasons, cheap and beautiful
Kashan is the city of Golab (Rose water) and the birthplace of famous Iranian artists.

Kashan is one of the oldest cities in Iran.This city is located close to Tehran, so access to this historic city is very easy and fast.Tourism Capacity, Natural, Historical, Different weather in parts, Flowers and Vegetables, Different mountainous geography, FinalyCool and green space to the desert and hot areas … attracts every visitor and finally you can understand a variety of climatic features in a small range.

By one day tour in Kashan, you can visit all historical sites of this city and also some beautiful countryside around Kashan.
So join us on this one-day tour:

How we go:
You can use the passenger terminals in the north ( Beyhaghi ) and south ( South Terminal ) of Tehran for going to Kashan.Several highways between Tehran and Kashan and Isfahan have made it easy to get to the city.

Places to visit:
This historic city with more than 8,000 years history, also with dozens of monuments can be a perfect tourist day for you.

Sialk hills:
Silak hills are the name of the first urban civilization in central plateau of Iran with over 8,000 years of history.Sialk is one of the historical places after the Jiroft civilization of Kerman on the Iranian plateau.

FIn Garden:
One of the most beautiful Persian gardens and the coronation place of a number of Persian kings.This garden with over 23,000 square meters is one of the oldest gardens in Iran, which dates back to the Safavid period(1502–1736).




Old Houses:

Kashan is very famous for its beautiful houses in the cities of Iran.The most beautiful houses in Iran with, beautiful architecture, nice decorations, mirror-works, as well as other architectural features in these houses can be viewed.These houses are the Jem of Kashan architectural.Some of these houses have changed to House/Hotel like Amery Hotel, Manouchehri House, Irani house or Noghli house that you can have a dreamy night in these homes.

This city is one of the religious cities of Iran and has a variety of beautiful mosques which With its beautiful architecture, attracts the attention of every tourist.

Bazaar of Kashan:
Bazaar of Kashan is an old bazaar in the center of the city of Kashan, Iran. It is thought to have been built in the Seljuk era with renovations during the Safavid period.The bazaar has a famous architecture, especially at its Timche-ye Amin od-Dowleh section, where a grand light well was built in the 19th century.

Getting around Kashan:

Abyaneh village: .This village is located 40 km from Kashan.
This historical village is very famous for its architectural style and traditional folk culture.Every year, thousands of tourists visit this historic village.

Nyasar village: This village is one of the mountainous regions of Kashan.This mountain village has a cool climate
Which in summer is one of Kashan’s bungalow?Also in this area, you can find historical monuments like Sassanid fire temple ,Reis cave, and Niasar Waterfall.

Qamsar: The capital of Iran flower and rose water.
This lush valley is located 60 km from Kashan
Every year in a special event in April, thousands of liters of rose water are obtained from the flowers of this city.
Salt Lake Aran and Bidgol: karvanseraiIt is located 35 km northeast of Aran and Bidgol city and is about 647 square kilometers.The depth of this lake varies from 5 to 54 meters.The beauties of Maranjab desert are vast Aran & Bidgol Salt Lake with its wonderful Floating Island (its call floating because it is as if there is a lost ship in the vast horizon of the desert), huge sand dunes and tamarisk trees forest. caravanserai with a pool of water in front of it in this area which is a camping point of Maranjab desert. To enjoy the touch of the sands on your fingers while walking bare foot on the sand hills and watching the dawn of the sun among the Tamarisk trees and sunset far far away, behind the horizon of the salt lake and unforgettable desert night ski where you can pick stars, stay in this desert one n.ight.

What to buy: Rose water and herbs, Pottery, Baghlava (Sweet) and the most important of them Kashani carpet are the souvenirs of Kashan.



The Ancient Windmills, Nashtifan Windmills; A building that serves the wind

Nashtefan mills are located in Khorasan Razavi, Khaf district, Nashtefan village.Khaf spray windmills from the largest collections of clay, mud, and wood from the Safavid period, and the largest and oldest collection of mills in the world.The durability of these windmills depends on 120 days winds of Sistan & Baloochestan province.One of the most significant and impressive cultural buildings in the Nishtefan area are the windmills.The collection of Nashtefan mills is a historical and technological monument left over more than a thousand years ago in Iran.These historic monuments as one of the tourist attractions of Khorasan Razavi host annually hundreds of foreign tourists and thousands of domestic tourists.

In the past, windmills were usually used to make wheat flour.Windmills have also been used to do other things, such as pumping water.There is no exact information about the date of these Windmills.The advent of windmills is due to 120 day Sistan winds, that the city’s residents used 120-day wind power.When the Nashtifan people used the wind to control the
Windmills, Not only has it boost But also has been a very smart technology.
The windmills of this area are made of the simplest materials, including clay, mud, and wood.


Citadel of Karim Khan e Zand

Citadel of Karim Khan e Zand

While reading and preparing to take a trip to Iran, you will easily notice there are a lot of historical sights and monuments to visit in each part of the country. Shiraz is also an ancient city with several old monuments still standing in good conditions. What you read here is an introduction to one of the most outstanding structures remained from Zand Dynasty, 2nd half of 18th century, Arg-e-Karimkhani .

Arg-e-Karimkhani (Karim Khan Citadel)

This structure can be easily found at a corner of Shahrdary Sq close to Shiraz bazaar. The appearance of the building resembles a solid fortress entirely made from bricks with military as well as residential functions. The construction of Karimkhan Citadel goes back to the second half of 18th century when Karimkhan-e-Zand was ruling in Iran from Shiraz, his capital city.

The structure reminds you of the plain brick-made buildings of 11th and 12th centuries when Seljuks were ruling in Iran. The corner bastions are very robust and decorated with bricks. One won’t realize how delicate some of the details inside the building could be without exploring it. At the south eastern corner of the citadel, a bastion is leaning like it’s going to fall down! It’s been like that for years and has been reinforced to stand on its place.

Above the entrance gate, you will notice a sizable tile-worked scene of Rostam’s battle against a demon. Rostam is the protagonist character of Shahnameh, the epic poem book of Ferdowsy, the most well-known Iranian poet of 10th and 11th centuries. After entering the vestibule a corridor leads you into the large courtyard with an astonishing orange garden!

The garden inside the large courtyard of Arg-e-Karimkhani takes approximately up to 80% of the area. The rest, courtyard floor, is all covered by marble stone from the time of construction. A pathway from the center of the garden leads to the middle of each side of the courtyard opposite a portico leading to some of the rooms of the building.

Main Rooms of Karimkhan Citadel

As you enter the courtyard from the vestibule, at the opposite side of the courtyard, under the large wind catcher, there’s a portico that could be seen right away. Inside the beautifully decorated rooms of this section, attractive wax statues revive the setting inside the court of Karim Khan where he met with officials and ruled over the territories under his domination.

The fresco embellishment of the walls and ceilings are fabulous examples of how beautifully Zand art vitalized official and non-official buildings of that period. A combination of gold leafs with relatively dark red colors were used to give elegant taste to the interior walls of the royal buildings.

Adjacent to this mail room, sometimes a couple of other rooms are opened to the public to see the local costumes of Iranian women of various ethnic groups. The colorful gowns seen here are still worn by local people when you travel to different parts of Iran.

Bathhouse of Arg-e-Karimkhani

On the very south eastern part corner of the courtyard, there’s a door that leads to the Arg-e-Karimkhani’s bathhouse, Hammam. This handsome bathhouse has got all the architectural sections of any similar structures, which make it worth a visit. The simple yet likable plasterwork decorations on the walls of this hammam, imply the love in flowers and nature, what Shirazi artists have always been inspired by.

Marble floors and seats, insulated pools for hot and cold water, clay-made pipes for heating beneath the floors and transferring water, and so forth are all observable and the echo returning your voice inside the big hall of this hammam reminds you of the lively setting of old bathhouses where royal family met and had themselves washed and massaged by the servants.